Collections of Dilip Prakash

Love story

Posted on: July 14, 2008

Story for sore eyes

“Sam, it seems Jay is interested in me. Please help me out. How do I tell jay to get off my back and leave me alone?” My friend, Neha, on the other end of the phone was pleading with me for help. I told my friend sincerely “just tell Jay that you are already seeing someone. That should keep Jay away from you. By the way why don’t you go out with Jay. I like the name. The person cannot be that bad. Anyways you were cribbing to me some days back that you don’t have a love life. Give him a chance.”

Me and Neha; we went to the same college. We became good friends real quick. Since she was from a girls’ school, she had lots of gal pals and we became good friends. I am not saying that was reason for me to become her friend but that was one of the reasons. Nevertheless, we got our engineering degree and now Neha is in Bangalore, of course a software engineer. And me, a mechanical engineer located in Chennai. Me, like lots of you, preach and advice very well but find it impossible to practice. I can write a book on handling relationships, but I’ve never had a serious relationship till now. Have gone with couple of girls now and then but never had a “long term relationship”. Same with Neha, the only difference was Neha never preached and didn’t have a chance to practice. Neha was an average person in all sense of the word. Very consistent in academics, always getting the average score, Average looking. She had good taste and so dressed well but somehow guys in college didn’t notice her much. “They weren’t fortunate enough” Neha would say.

College years passed away as fast as all the good times in life do. It’s been two years since we finished college. I and Neha have been in touch. Courtesy: her Software firm. She has a phone at her desk and she calls me from the office no. She keeps complaining about the lack of love life. And she being a software engineer, didn’t even have a life. The day Jay bumped into Neha at health and glow, I got a call. She was bubbling with happiness as she told me “Sam, I met Jay today. Jay and I studied in the same school. We were thick friends and somehow lost in touch when I joined the college. It was a pure coincidence today. It was such a pleasant surprise. I am so happy. We guys are meeting up again this Thursday at the coffee pub. I obviously don’t have much free time as the project that my team is working on is nearing completions. Anyways Jay kept insisting that we meet up. I was in health and glow and that’s when……” She was very happy and was in a flow and I was thinking to myself “Why would any guy go to health and glow?” Then I figured everyone has a right to look good or atleast tried their hand at it. I remembered a friend of mine who wanted to try applying sandal wood paste on his face. What some people do to look good….and suddenly Neha’s voice jerked me off the trail of thoughts and I heard her sayings “are you even listening to me?” and the default answer from me “Of course I am listening, so what does this guy look like…” I hadn’t finished my sentence and Neha spoke “I don’t know what you were thinking but it’s obvious that you have not listened to a single word I said, before you spoil my happiness and corrupt my coding, let me hang up” before I could say anything, she said “bye Sam, I’ll call you on Thursday. Take care. Bubyee.” That week was hectic as usual. Monday came with the blues and the bit of blue got glued on to Tuesday. Then it was Wednesday, the countdown to Friday began. And came Thursday and so came the call. Neha was true to her word. I got a call from some landline no. from Bangalore and I knew it was from Neha’s office. I picked up the call and was expecting the bubbly tone in Neha’s voice but instead came a unhappy voice.

“Neha, what happened?”

“Day was a disaster; I’m still in a state of shock”

“But what happened, this got anything to do with you meeting Jay?”

“Yeah… Jay hit on me.

“Sam, it seems Jay is interested in me. Please help me out. How do I tell jay to get off my back and leave me alone?” My friend on the other end of the phone was pleading with me for help. I told my friend sincerely “just tell Jay that you are already seeing someone. That should keep Jay away from you. By the way why don’t you go out with Jay. I like the name. The person cannot be that bad. Anyways you were cribbing to me some days back that you don’t have a love life. Give him a chance.”

Suddenly she was shouting

“You idiot, you didn’t hear a single word I was telling you that day. You moron, sam, Jay is a friend from school days. We are from the same school.”

I was thinking what I missed; I knew they were school friends. Is there some unspoken rule that one is not allowed to date anyone from the same school. Then it hit me, but before I could say something Neha spoke first “I told you that I studied in a girls’ school and so did jay, her name’s jacqueline.”


Leave a Reply

For a Better Life

1. Don’t talk when u r angry
2. Don’t take words seriously from the one who is angry

Do you want to see the world after Death?

Donate Eyes DONATE YOUR 'EYES'!!

Miles Crossed

  • 1,054,170 Miles
(c) 2013 All Rights not Reserved Worldofdilip.wordpress.com
